About Us

Canadians for Tax Fairness advocates for fair and progressive tax policies aimed at building a strong and sustainable economy, reducing inequalities and funding quality public services.

Our vision is a country where taxation is regarded as a way to invest in Canada and Canadians. We believe in a progressive tax system where all individuals and corporations pay their fair share.

We believe that Canada in the 21st century should be a society in which economic disparities are decreasing, basic needs are met by investing in high-quality public services, economic policies are designed to create good quality jobs and protect our environment, and the will of the people drives our political process.

Our mission is to raise public awareness of crucial issues of tax justice and to change the way Canadians talk about tax. We also work to encourage government policies and laws to result in a more fair and progressive tax system.

Canadians for Tax Fairness works with groups and individuals who share that goal. If that sounds like you, please check out our current campaigns to get involved or consider donating to help us carry out our work.

Canadians for Tax Fairness is a non-profit organization. We’re not a registered charity, so that we can continue to speak the truth and put pressure on politicians and corporations. We’re non-partisan and not affiliated with any political party.

C4TF was founded in 2011 by a broad coalition of economists, researchers and social justice advocates drawn from civil society groups. They represented faith, labour, international development and community organizations, as well as academia and law. These individuals were united by a shared desire to steer Canadian tax policy back to what matters: addressing social, economic and environmental challenges.

Canadians for Tax Fairness campaigns for:

  • Closing Tax Loopholes
  • Tackling Tax Havens
  • Making Multinational Corporations Pay Their Fair Share
  • A Fair and Progressive Tax System
  • Improved Public Services 
  • Corporate Transparency
  • Ending Snow-washing

Board of Directors

Scott Chamberlain  (Chair)
Director of Labour Relations and General Counsel, Association of Canadian Financial Officers

David Langille (Treasurer)
Lecturer, York University

Emily Watkins (Secretary)
Special Advisor to the President, PIPSC

Peter Bleyer
President, Peter Bleyer and Associates

David Bruer
Inter Pares

Murray Dobbin
Author, Political Commentator

Flore Fournier
Agricultural Economist

Patricia Lane
Lawyer, Mediator

Andrew McNeill
National Union of Public and General Employees

Emily Norgang
Senior researcher, Canadian Labour Congress

Lars Osberg
Professor of Economics, Dalhousie University

Richard Rizok
Senior Program Analyst, Infrastructure Canada

Cheryl Stadnichuk
Chair, CCPA Saskatchewan board

National Advisory Council

Neil Brooks
Tax law professor, co-author The Trouble With Billionaires

Dr. Karen Hamilton
General Secretary, Canadian Council of Churches

Dr. Alex Himelfarb
Former Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary of Cabinet for three Prime Ministers

Murray Klippenstein
Social justice lawyer, former President, Canadian Environmental Defence Fund

Peter C. Newman
Journalist and author

Douglas Peters
Former Secretary of State (Finance) and former TD Bank Chief Economist

Clayton Ruby
CM, QC, lawyer, editor Canadian Rights Reporter

Ed Broadbent
Former Leader of the New Democratic Party of Canada

Technical Advisory Committee

Andrew Jackson
Senior Policy Advisor, Broadbent Institute

Marc Lee
Senior Economist, Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives, BC Office

David Macdonald
Senior Economist, Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives and Coordinator, Alternative Federal Budget

Hugh Mackenzie
Economic consultant

Richard Shillington
Author, researcher, statistician

Jim Stanford
Author Economics for Everyone, economist

Armine Yalnizyan